Newswise — CHICAGO, IL (May 22, 2019) – The Thoracic Surgery Foundation (TSF) has announced its “Top 20” Institutional Honor Roll for 2019. TSF, which is the charitable arm of The Society of Thoracic Surgeons (STS), provides awards for cardiothoracic surgery research, education, leadership, and surgical outreach in underserved patients. So far in 2019, the Foundation has distributed $951,500 in awards and scholarships.

The TSF “Top 20” most funded institutions since 1993 are:

#1 University of Pittsburgh

#2 University of Pennsylvania

#3 Washington University

#4 University of California San Francisco

#5 Johns Hopkins Medical Center

#6 University of Washington

#7 University of California – Los Angeles

#8 Stanford University

#9 University of Virginia

#10 University of Toronto

#11 University of Michigan

#12 Brigham & Women’s Hospital

#13 Baylor College of Medicine

#14 University of Cincinnati

#15 Roswell Park Cancer

#16 Medical College of Wisconsin

#17 University of Maryland

#18 Emory University

#19 Northwestern Memorial

#20 Duke University

“We want to congratulate each of these institutions for achieving TSF Top 20 Honor Roll status. This status signals the strength of their cardiothoracic surgery programs, faculty, and staff,” said TSF President Joseph E. Bavaria, MD. “Each TSF funding application is thoroughly analyzed and scored by rigorous peer review, without bias or conflict of interest. The TSF Research Committee is composed of more than 40 appointed surgeon-scientist leaders who are actively practicing at medical institutions across the U.S. and Canada. The contributions of award recipients at these Top 20 institutions to cardiothoracic surgery and our patients is significant.”

Dr. Bavaria was elected TSF President on January 26, 2019. He is a Past President of STS and currently serves as Chair of the STS/ACC TVT Registry Steering Committee. He also is the Brooke Roberts-William M. Measey Professor of Surgery, Vice-Chief of the Division of Cardiovascular Surgery, and Director/Founder of the Thoracic Aortic Surgery Program at the University of Pennsylvania in Philadelphia. Dr. Bavaria is a passionate supporter of STS and its charitable arm—TSF. He is committed to helping advance the TSF mission of fostering the development of surgeon scientists in cardiothoracic surgery, increasing knowledge and innovation to benefit patient care.

The Foundation’s 2020 Award cycle opens on July 15, 2019. TSF enthusiastically welcomes applications from qualified cardiothoracic surgeons and residents, employed at any institution with a cardiothoracic surgery program. Award offerings and applications can be accessed at The deadline for 2020 TSF Award applications is September 15, 2019.


Contact: Priscilla S. Kennedy, TSF Executive Director, [email protected], 312-202-5868

The Thoracic Surgery Foundation is a pivotal force for growth and vitality in cardiothoracic surgery, especially for research and academic career development, awarding more than $17 million in cardiothoracic surgery research and education grants. The Foundation was first established in 1988 as a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit charitable organization and is the charitable arm of The Society of Thoracic Surgeons. The mission of TSF is to foster the development of surgeon scientists in cardiothoracic surgery; increasing knowledge and innovation to benefit patient care. If you would like to learn more about TSF grants or apply for a research or education award, please visit