Newswise — Reston, Va.; December 20, 2018 — The Society of Toxicology (SOT) is pleased to announce the recipients of its 2019 awards. The awardees include early-career scientists to groundbreaking researchers who have impacted the field for many years. Their collective expertise ranges from developing alternative toxicological methods and ensuring drug safety to the effect of environmental exposures on epigenetics and the mechanisms of chemical toxicity. In addition, SOT honors individuals focused on building and increasing toxicology education opportunities for undergraduates and graduate students and those who share and explain toxicology to the public, regulators, and other scientists.

“The 2019 SOT awardees represent the breadth and diversity of SOT and toxicology,” says Leigh Ann Burns Naas, SOT President 2018–2019. “They work in academia, government, and industry in pursuit of new discoveries and advances that can make a positive impact on human, animal, and environmental health. They are at the forefront of new technologies, as well as understanding the basic biological and chemical mechanisms that influence health. It is an honor to recognize them for their contributions to toxicology.”

Through its awards, SOT recognizes more than two dozen groundbreaking scientists, emerging leaders, postdoctoral researchers, and graduate students who are advancing the science of toxicology and provides support to more than 100 graduate and undergraduate students through student travel awards and the SOT Endowment Fund awards.

The 2019 SOT award recipients will be honored formally at an awards ceremony during the Society’s 58th Annual Meeting and ToxExpo in Baltimore, Maryland, March 10–14, 2019.

The 2019 SOT Award recipients are:

SOT Achievement Award
Nicole C. Kleinstreuer, PhD, NIEHS/NICEATM, Research Triangle Park, NC

SOT Arnold J. Lehman Award
Joy A. Cavagnaro, PhD, DABT, RAC, ATS, Access BIO, L.C., Boyce, VA

SOT Distinguished Toxicology Scholar Award
Cheryl Lyn Walker, PhD, ATS, Baylor College of Medicine, Center for Precision Environmental Health, Houston, TX

SOT Education Award
Oliver Hankinson, PhD, University of California Los Angeles, Los Angeles, CA

SOT Enhancement of Animal Welfare Award
Suzanne C. Fitzpatrick, PhD, DABT, US FDA, Center for Food Safety and Applied Nutrition, College Park, MD

SOT Founders Award (for Outstanding Leadership in Toxicology)
Lois D. Lehman-McKeeman, PhD, ATS, Bristol-Myers Squibb, Princeton, NJ

SOT Leading Edge in Basic Science Award
Sven E. Jordt, PhD, Duke University Medical Center, Chapel Hill, NC

SOT Merit Award
Stephen H. Safe, PhD, Texas A&M University, College Station, TX

SOT Public Communications Award
Mary Beth Genter, PhD, DABT, ATS, University of Cincinnati, Cincinnati, OH

SOT Translational Impact Award
Hartmut Jaeschke, PhD, ATS, University of Kansas Medical Center, Overland Park, KS

SOT Daniel and Patricia Acosta Undergraduate Educator Award
Wade H. Powell, PhD, Kenyon College, Gambier, OH

Toxicological Sciences Paper of the Year Award
“Collaborative Cross Mouse Population Enables Refinements to Characterization of the Variability in Toxicokinetics of Trichloroethylene and Provides Genetic Evidence for the Role of PPAR Pathway in Its Oxidative Metabolism.” Abhishek Venkatratnam, Shinji Furuya, Oksana Kosyk, Avram Gold, Wanda Bodnar, Kranti Konganti, David W. Threadgill, Kevin M. Gillespie, David L. Aylor, Fred A. Wright, Weihsueh A. Chiu, and Ivan Rusyn. Toxicological Sciences 158, no. 1 (2017): 48–62.

“An Impaired Immune Tolerance Animal Model Distinguishes the Potential of Troglitazone/Pioglitazone and Tolcapone/Entacapone to Cause IDILI.” Alastair Mak, Ryuji Kato, Kyle Weston, Anthony Hayes, and Jack Uetrecht. Toxicological Sciences 161, no. 2, (2018): 412–20.

Colgate-Palmolive Award for Student Research Training in Alternative Methods
Yvonne Chang, BS, Oregon State University, Corvallis, OR
Project Title: “Linking Co-regulated Gene Modules with Polycyclic Aromatic Hydrocarbon-Related Cancer Risk in the 3D Human Bronchial Epithelium”

Colgate-Palmolive Grants for Alternative Research
Helena T. Hogberg, PhD, Johns Hopkins University, Bloomberg School of Public Health, Nottingham, MD
Project Title: “Myelination as an Endpoint for Developmental Neurotoxicity (DNT) Testing in a Human 3D In Vitro Model” 

Hao Zhu, PhD, Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, Camden, NJ
Project Title: “Computational Adverse Outcome Pathway Modeling for Developmental and Reproductive Toxicity (DART)”

Colgate-Palmolive Postdoctoral Fellowship Award in In Vitro Toxicology
Samantha C. Faber, PhD, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Chapel Hill, NC
Project Title: “Beyond the Barrier: A Readily Adoptable In Vitro Model for Exploring the Effects of Inhaled Toxicants beyond the Epithelium” 

Syngenta Fellowship Award in Human Health Applications of New Technologies
Lauren Lewis, BS, Texas A&M University, College Station, TX
Project Title: “The Utility of a Human In Vitro Population-Based Model for Studies of Epigenetic and Genotoxic Mechanisms” 

Plus, Pfizer and SOT are supporting the travel of more than a dozen undergraduate students to the SOT Annual Meeting and ToxExpo, where the students will present research posters.

Bios, images, and more for the 2019 award recipients are available on the SOT website.

For more information on a particular SOT award or award recipient, please contact Michelle Werts, SOT communications director, at 703.438.3115 ext. 1640 or [email protected].

# # #

About SOT Awards & Honors
The Society of Toxicology (SOT) Awards program recognizes and assists distinguished toxicologists and students each year based on merit. In 1962, the Society inducted its first honorary members, establishing its honors program. In 1965, the SOT Awards program was created with the establishment of two awards, the SOT Merit Award and the SOT Achievement Award, to support “the furtherance of the science of toxicology.” Today, the Society presents more than 20 awards that recognize achievement, facilitate travel for senior and budding scientists, and further toxicological research. Hashtag: #SOTAwards

About SOT
Founded in 1961, the Society of Toxicology (SOT) is a professional and scholarly organization of more than 8,200 scientists from academic institutions, government, and industry representing the great variety of individuals who practice toxicology in the US and abroad. SOT is committed to creating a safer and healthier world by advancing the science and increasing the impact of toxicology. The Society promotes the acquisition and utilization of knowledge in toxicology, aids in the protection of public health, and has a strong commitment to education in toxicology and to the recruitment of students and new members into the profession. For more information about SOT, visit the Society online at, follow @SOToxicology on Twitter, like SOT on Facebook, and connect with SOT on LinkedIn.